Lab #4

PART 1: I have read the article again.

PART 2

Before 1994, diabetes in children was generally caused by a genetic disorder — only about 5 percent of childhood cases were obesity-related, or Type 2, diabetes. Today, according to the National Institutes of Health, Type 2 diabetes accounts for at least 30 percent of all new childhood cases of diabetes in this country.

Part 3

I grew up as a typical mid-1980’s latchkey kid. My parents were split up, my dad off trying to rebuild his life, my mom working long hours to make the monthly bills. Lunch and dinner, for me, was a daily choice between McDonald’s, Taco Bell, Kentucky Fried Chicken or Pizza Hut.

Part 4

I tend to sympathize with these portly fast-food patrons, though. Maybe that’s because I used to be one of them.

Part 5

Kids taking on McDonald’s this week, suing the company for making them fat. Isn’t that like middle-aged men suing Porsche for making them get speeding tickets?

Part 7

I have a group of 6 friends I have known since I was 9 years old that I still talk to and get together with. I have a strong understanding of connection and attachment because of them. Those guys are like brothers to me. This means that I know exactly what attachment feels like and how being with these people all my life (my earliest relationships) has structured me into what I have become today.

Part 8

As I was watching my teammates physically fight against the other team, I  wanted to feel what they felt. Imagine you were sitting on that bench instead of me, watching them fight their hearts out. I wanted to be like them and from then on, I did feel what they feel. I felt the attachment, love and  excitement  every time I showed up to a game or practice. I felt a strong connection with the other players on my team which made me feel like I had another family. This is the part of sports that most people don’t recognize.

 

 

Leave a Reply

